a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Vegetarian “Philly Cheesesteak” Sandwich

on October 22, 2014

I know. That’s a confusing title.

When Fred and I were first married I happily “shared” all my favorite vegan and vegetarian recipes with him…until he very gingerly told me he really didn’t like most of them. I spent the next several years cooking 6 meals a day, 3 for him and 3 for me (we’ve already long established that neither of us is going to change our eating preferences and that I’m the only one who “knows how” to cook vegetarian foods. This is according to Fred, of course,*ahem* so I’m the designated chef in the family).

It took me a while but I finally wrapped my head around the idea of taking everyday “normal,” as Fred would say, recipes and make vegetarian versions of them – something that we would both eat and enjoy. With everything available at the market these days, it’s been a lot easier than I thought!

Here is the recipe for my latest experiment. I think it turned out pretty darn yummy, if I do say so, myself!

Vegetarian “Philly Cheesesteak” Sandwich
(Makes 2 large sandwiches)

Ingredients

2 Tbs. Olive Oil
1/2 package Morningstar Farms Crumbles
1 small Onion, thinly sliced
1 Tbs. Flour
1/4 cup Vegetable Broth
1 cup Sweet Peppers, diced (use any color)
2 slices Vegetarian American Cheese (more for topping — and you could also use the equivalent of Provolone or Cheese Whiz)
Salt and Pepper to taste
Dash of Thyme

Directions

1. In a medium pan, over medium-high heat, sautéed the onions in the olive oil until translucent.
2. Add the flour to the onions and cook just until the flour starts to brown.
3. Add the broth and stir until it forms a gravy (you may need a little more liquid if it’s too thick or pasty. Only add a little at a time).
4. Add the peppers, Morningstar Farms crumbles, salt, pepper, & Thyme, stirring well.
5. Tear the American cheese slices into pieces, add, and stir until it’s melted.
6. Serve on any type bread you want. I had French slices on hand though I think this would be delicious on buns or sour dough rolls.
7. Top with additional cheese, if desired.

I also read sautéed mushrooms are typical for this sandwich but didn’t have any on hand. Next time, I will…

IMG_1379-1.PNG

2 responses to “Vegetarian “Philly Cheesesteak” Sandwich

  1. Deb says:

    When we were first married we ate a lot of TVP because it was much cheaper than meat. During that time I had a job with a company who had a major off-license as a client. I was endlessly bringing home bottles of some very decent wine and alcohol. Not really being drinkers I used to cook the TVP in it. You could see the shock on people’s faces that we were “wasting” the drink on sauces for textured vegetable protein (which we affectionately referred to as “puppy chows”…they did look like dog food!).

    • LB Driver says:

      Ha! Ha! What a great story! I think I’m pretty sure I have some “puppy chow” in the pantry as we speak! 😉 Take care & thanks for sharing. Lovely to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

