a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

One Pot Thai Green Curry

on June 13, 2013

Last week I went to lunch with two of my most favorite people. We went to one of the Thai restaurants in town and I tried something I’d never had before; green curry. I can see why they call this “Thailand’s comfort food.” 

Yesterday I was still thinking about it (yeah, it was that good) so I started poking around some online recipe sites to see what all went into this and how difficult it would be for me to make at home. Most of the recipes I found had 12 zillion steps and required too many dishes to wash. So, I knew I’d have to adapt something to suit my needs (ie: easy cook/easy clean) — and still taste great, of course. I didn’t make my own green curry paste so it may not be totally “authentic,” but there were no leftovers, which goes down as a “win” in my book.

green curryOne Pot Thai Green Curry Vegetables

Ingredients

  • 1 – 13.5 ounce can Light Coconut Milk* (if you use regular, it might be very thick and require more stock).
  • 1/2 cup Vegetable Stock
  • 1-1/4 Tbs. Tamari (I use this in place of soy because it’s gluten-free)
  • Lime Juice (use fresh if you have it. I used a squirt of refrigerated juice in the little lime bottle – maybe 1 to 1-1/2 tsp.)
  • 1 Tbs. Brown Sugar
  • 4-5 Tbs. Green Curry Paste* (this is spicy – you may want to start with less and add more in the end)
  • 5-6 cups diced vegetables (total, not each). I used: Onions, Yellow Bell Pepper, White-fleshed Sweet Potato, Bamboo Shoots, Water Chestnuts, Green Beans, Sugar Snap Peas, Mushrooms (both white and  sun), Baby Corn, and Bean Sprouts.

Directions:

  1. Spoon 1/4 of the coconut milk into a large pan or dutch oven (don’t bother stirring the milk at this point – just scoop out what’s on top).
  2. Add the green curry and mix well.
  3. Cook 5 minutes over medium high heat, stirring constantly to prevent burning.
  4. Add in the rest of the coconut milk and the Tamari, lime juice, and brown sugar.
  5. Stir until the sugar has dissolved (just a few minutes).
  6. Add the vegetables and bring to a boil.
  7. Once boiling, turn to medium-low and cook, stirring often, about 10 minutes or until the vegetables are tender.

This makes about 4 servings (or, if you’re really hungry, 2 large). You can serve it with a side of rice (Jasmin is delish), pour it right over the rice, or leave the rice out, altogether.

*Notes: Light coconut milk has 50% fewer calories and about half the fat of regular. This (entire) recipe, as is, came to about 750 calories and around 20 grams of fat. Also, some brands of Green Curry Paste contain fish. If you’re looking for a vegan version of this, check the labels. I used Thai Kitchen which, I believe, is vegan.

Leave a Reply

