a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Homemade Gluten-Free Flatbread Rolls

on April 24, 2013

I’ve started on this new chapter in my life that includes gluten-free and processed sugar-free eating. I thought I’d try it for a year to see how it goes. The first week or two was really not too fun…for anyone in this house. I had headaches, was exhausted (“bed by 7 pm” exhausted) and, according to Fred, not too “friendly,” either. But it’s been two months now and I think I’m past all the bad stuff (though I do think my husband would disagree just to guilt me into buying him Oreos…) and am feeling much better. In fact, I’m sleeping better now than I ever remember and some of my health issues have improved (what? I’m over 50, I’m entitled to health issues…). 

I adapted the bread maker rolls recipe I posted last year to make it gluten and nearly sugar-free (I used a very small amount of honey). If you don’t have a bread maker you can still make these – you’ll need to proof the yeast and knead the dough yourself.

flatbread rollsGluten-Free Flatbread Rolls

Ingredients

  • 1-1/4 cups unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1 beaten Egg
  • 1 Tbs. Butter
  • 1 Tbs. Honey
  • 3/4 tsp. Salt
  • 3-3/4 cup Flour (my gluten-free mix consists of 1/4 cup each of the white rice flour, brown rice flour, garbanzo bean flour, and tapioca starch – this makes 1 cup flour to replace 1 cup wheat flour).
  • 4 heaping tsp. Xantham Gum (this is NOT optional — it replaces the gluten and holds the flours together).
  • 1-1/4 tsp. Dry Yeast

Directions

  1. Cut the dough in half and, one at a time, roll each half out into a rectangle (about 1/4″ thick and cut them into squares with a knife (the size will depend on what works best with you).
  2. Place on a greased baking sheet, about an inch apart.
  3. Cover and let sit about 30 minutes (they might not rise a lot but it’ll give them a chance, if they want to…). 
  4. Bake at 350F for 12 minutes.
  5. Take them out of the oven, flip them over, and bake another 5 minutes or so, until both sides are lightly browned.

I love these in the morning. They’re wonderful toasted with a little almond butter and a smattering of all-fruit cherry jam.

Leave a Reply

