a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Savory Roasted Sweet Potatoes

on April 1, 2013

I’m starting to develop an interesting relationship with sweet potatoes. For today, my tastebuds are still rejecting the orange ones but are getting quite used to the white ones (not yams, mind you…sweet potatoes) as they’re not nearly as sweet and are more “potato-like.” I believe there are over 30 different varieties available out there (but I have no idea which ones I’m using. I go to the store and ask which have the “whitest” flesh and that’s what I buy).

I’ve tried a few different sweet potato recipes, since my last post about curried veggies and, while they were edible, they weren’t much to write about (ie: I’ll leave the sweet potato fries to Ore Ida for now)…until this one. I really like the spices I chose but was conservative with them, not knowing how it would go. Next time I will add more — and you can adjust to your own tastes, as well.

Savory Roasted Sweet Potatoessw potato

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium (appx. 2″ x 5″) white-fleshed Sweet Potato
  • 1-2 Tbs. Olive Oil
  • 1 Tbs. Dried Onions
  • TO TASTE:  Black Pepper, Paprika, Garlic Powder, Chili Powder, & Salt

Directions:

  1. Peel and chop the sweet potatoes into bite-sized chunks.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, toss the potatoes with the olive oil.
  3. Sprinkle in the spices and stir well to coat all the potato pieces.
  4. Roast in a glass pan or on a cookie sheet at 425F for 10-15 minutes.
  5. With a spatula, turn the potatoes and roast another 10-20 minutes, or until they’re lightly browned and crispy.
Leave a Reply

