a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

It’s never black and white…unless it’s a photo.

on February 19, 2013

There’s a black and white photo, circling on Facebook right now, of a diver in front of an old, submerged airplane. I don’t know who took it or where it came from (but would love to, if anyone out there knows). And, for whatever reason, I can’t stop looking at it. It’s mesmerizing. Moreover, it gave me a whole new appreciation of black and white photos. You’re working with, basically, two “colors” and several in-between shades — and that’s it. It’s not as easy as it sounds and, especially, to do it well.

I’ve been poking through my photos and looking at them in black and white just to see how they change (not like I can now see Jesus’ face in the recesses or anything…though, do keep an eye out on eBay), but to see more of the light/dark and shapes that, otherwise, I may have missed out on. Here are a few that, I think, came out kind of cool.

bw 5

bw 11

bw 7

bw 8a

bw 10

Leave a Reply

