a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Mini Breakfast Quiches

on February 12, 2013

Don’t get me wrong, I like mornings. I’m just not crazy about the “getting out of bed and functioning” part of it. The rest is great.

The days that Fred works I make him breakfast and lunch (sometimes even dinner) so, I’m always on the lookout for things that I can make ahead. I adapted this one from a recipe found on myrecipes.com and am really happy with the way it turned out. I’m sure you could add, pretty much, whatever you wanted (other vegetables, meats, herbs, etc.) to make it work for you. 

mini breakfast quicheIngredients

  • 1/4 cup Onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup canned or frozen (thawed) chopped Spinach*
  • 1 Tbs. Bacon Bits
  • 2 oz. Mozzarella Cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground Black Pepper
  • 4 large Eggs

(*If you use fresh spinach, you’ll need 1 cup. Then saute it in a tsp. oil 3 minutes).

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Spray or grease 6 muffin cups.
  3. Beat the eggs in a medium-sized bowl then add the rest of the ingredients and stir well.
  4. Spoon or pour the mixture evenly into the prepared muffin cups.
  5. Bake at 350F for 20 minutes or until set (these will deflate, somewhat, as they cool).
  6. Serve warm.

I’ve not tried freezing these, yet, but I will. I think I’ll make a few different varieties, too. Every step I take today gives me another minute in bed tomorrow morning. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

