a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Easy Slow Cooker Baby Potatoes

on November 12, 2012

After getting the last of the potatoes pulled, I noticed we had a lot of very small ones, maybe grape to walnut-sized. Thankfully, the skins are very thin so peeling isn’t necessary on these (not that I would’ve even had the patience for that…).

Normally, I would’ve roasted them but wanted to try something different (and didn’t have a lot of time to mess with them) so I decided to slow cook some of them. I filled the slow cooker about 1/2 way with potatoes and then added 1 can of Vegetable Stock and 1 can of Water (use any liquid or combination of liquids you’d like — there just needs to be enough to cover the potatoes). I added about 1 tsp. minced Garlic and 1/4 small, chopped Onion and set it on high. I checked it after 3 hours and they were done (still firm but not mushy). 

I took them out of the liquid (I’ll reserve this for soup stock) and added Butter, Salt & Pepper, dried Rosemary, and grated Parmesan Cheese.  

The next morning, I diced some of the larger ones for a breakfast “hash” and the rest were roughly mashed, for dinner that night, and I added a dollop of sour cream on top. Gotta love the versatile potato!

Leave a Reply

