a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Wheat-Free Dog Biscuits

on October 11, 2012

After a recent rash of doggie health issues (yes, all three are currently present and accounted for, thank you), I thought I should, at least, start by changing their diets. They don’t eat people food, with the exception of a piece of cheese now and then or a potato chip when Fred misses his mouth (though, sometimes, I think he does this on purpose just to get on their good side when I’m telling them “no, they can’t have it”…hmm).  

The dog food they eat isn’t 5-star but, the main/first ingredient is chicken, so I’m okay with this, for now. Then I got to the biscuits (the main source of their “treats”) and wasn’t too happy with a couple of the things I found and decided to check out some options. The health food store had a decent selection. However, everything had whole wheat in it — a known allergen to many breeds and, with all three of ours being rescues, we can’t guarantee what they are, so I opted against that. But, I kept searching and I did find information on substitutions, went that direction, and came up with my own recipe, based on another I found online.

Wheat-Free Dog Biscuits

  • 2-1/2 cup Rice Flour
  • 1 cup Cornmeal*
  • 3/4 cup Chicken Stock
  • 1/4 cup Water
  • 1/2 cup Green Beans, pureed (measure after pureeing or use baby food green beans instead)

(*I know corn can be an allergen for dogs too but it’s in the food that they’ve been eating for 7 years  so I’m pretty sure this is okay. There are substitutes for corn meal out there but haven’t researched them).

Directions

Mix all the ingredients together until it makes a stiff dough. With some of the rice flour, flour your surface (countertop or other flat surface), turn the dough out onto it and roll out (or press if you don’t have a rolling pin) the dough to about 1/2″ all over (you may have to dust the top of the dough/rolling pin to keep it from sticking).

This is where the recipe made me laugh; “use cookie cutters to cut out fun shapes.” Seriously? Like the DOG isn’t going to eat them if they don’t look pretty? I used a knife and cut them into boring, ugly squares.

Place them on an UNgreased cookie sheet and bake, 350F, for about 20-30 minutes or until the edges get brown (some ovens run hotter than others — check them after 20 minutes).

I must say, even our finicky Doberman mix (aka “cat/dog”) loved these – BIG hit! I think I’m going to experiment with some other flavors, too, besides the green beans, like peanut butter or carrot (both okay for dogs in moderation).

Leave a Reply

