a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Art abandonment

on October 8, 2012

The banana bread is cooling, the potatoes are roasting in the oven, and the laundry is drying (Fred can do the dishes…) so I think I’ll work on my “art abandonment” project. Though it’s not a new concept, it was new to me when a friend of mine first approached me about doing it with her. It’s, definitely, one of the cooler things I’ve heard of. 

“Art Abandonment is a group designed to encourage random acts of art, left in various locations around the globe. The idea is that folks can make something and leave it for a lucky unsuspecting person to find. Artists can then post locations and photos of abandoned goodies…and finders can let everyone know that they are the lucky finder! O’ sweet abandon!”  
 
People leave everything from fabric art to paintings & drawings to sculpture. My friend paints on rocks, which just sounded like great fun to me, so that’s what I started doing.   
 
I probably won’t be posting pictures on their website of what I’m abandoning but I like the idea of sharing artwork with people — and love the idea of doing it anonymously for people who might not be expecting it! (And, who knows? It might be the only gift  they’ve received in a while, y’know?). Rather, I’m leaving a permanent little note on the back of each rock, simply stating “to you, from me.”
 
Here are some of my painted rocks, ready to be abandoned! (I thought they’d be fun for Halloween). I’m excited to do more!
 
 
 
 
I’m sure there are other groups out there but the one my friend is attached to is on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/groups/ArtAbandonment/. The idea was born from Michael deMeng (his website is here http://michaeldemeng.typepad.com/art_abandonment/)
Leave a Reply

