a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Oh, deer!

on September 14, 2012

We have a lot of deer here. They wander, pretty much, wherever they want. The only time it ever bothers me is when they chew up our veggies. Other than that, I rather like going out in the morning and seeing them in the yard. Last week there was a bit of a “traffic jam” down town due to a small herd of deer running down Main Street. I must admit, it was a bit weird watching deer run past my car (where other cars were supposed to be) as I was driving along.

This little guy showed up in our yard the other day, with his Mom, to munch on our apples. And he was cute as can be. I thought I could get closer to get a couple of good shots, so I quietly and slowly walked over to the garden fence and planted myself there. Though they’re not really afraid of people, I didn’t want to spook them and cause them to run into the street.

As I was taking photos of him, he started walking toward me, very curious about what I was doing. I was thrilled until I realized my zoom was completely off and all I could see in the view finder was his head. I lowered the camera and realized he was about 10 feet away from me. Though I loved the idea that he was so comfortable with me, I knew it wasn’t good for him, so I took a few steps back. (It’s never a good idea to try to get “friendly” with any wild animals – and I wasn’t sure his mother was so keen on this idea, either).

 After a few minutes, Mom decided it was time for them to go so, off they went into the bushes looking for more food and adventure. What a great experience.

Leave a Reply

