a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Shorties anyone?

on September 12, 2012

A friend of mine, here in town, has recently gotten into “The Shorties” and has been posting his on his Facebook account. They are 140 characters, or less, micro-fiction posts on Twitter. Not being a twitterer (or is that tweeter?), myself, I had no idea what these were other than random, bizarre, (and wonderful) blurbs that he’d thought up — until he explained it to me. I was quite excited that he started doing this as I’ve been doing my own version of these for years but, mostly, only for my “altered art” photo greeting cards. I have no idea if what I’m doing “qualifies” as an “official” Shorty, all I care about is that I now have someone else to “play” with and it’s been a great way to start (or end) the day.

Though not everyone “gets” mine, with my weirdly dry sense of humor, they’re still worth the brain cells I’m sure I fry thinking them up, as they really do make me laugh out loud — which is a good thing, unless you’re walking down a grocery aisle by yourself or in the middle of a very bad piano recital.

Some represent real life (though I’ll never tell which ones) and some are just things I think would be ironic or odd scenarios that I’d find funny (which, if you know me at all, isn’t a big stretch). I think everyone has Shorty potential. You just have to want to do it. Here are some of mine to get you started…

“Donna pondered a different life as she listened to the priest doze off in the confessional.”

“Miriam was concerned about what the other ladies at the senior center would think if she dyed her hair “Frivolous Fawn.”” 

“Harold laughed at Bonnie when she mistook the toothpaste for face cream but secretly found himself attracted to her minty fresh jowls.”

“Wanting to show Jane his sensitive side, it never occurred to Gary that group therapy class may not have been the best choice for a first date.”

“Lorraine felt empowered as she sped down the hill on her bicycle with the wind whipping at all her jiggly bits and bugs getting caught in her hair.”

“Jenny would’ve been perfect for Hal had her laugh not sounded like a wounded hyena on crack.”
 
“Becky knew the party had taken a turn for the worse when Mr. Grabby Hands decided to join the Twister game.”
 
“Kevin didn’t notice the dog hair on the floor until his guests commented on the lovely carpeting. He thought it best not to tell them it was actually linoleum.”
 
“Bianca reminded herself that “all was fair in love and war” as she lobbed a melon at the tart trying to pick up the new produce boy she had had her eye on.”

“Hildy knew the answer to the question “does this make me look fat?” but asked anyway, just to see if anything had changed.”

Leave a Reply

