a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Homemade Microwave Caramels

on September 7, 2012

I got such a craving for caramels last night, so I dug out a recipe for them given to me by a dear friend last Christmas (yes, I could’ve just gone to the store and bought some but that would’ve made for a pretty boring blog, now, wouldn’t it…).

Up until I tried these, I’d never had the best of luck with candies (not owning a candy thermometer has something to do with this, I’m sure) and was a little leery. But, I’m always up for trying something new and thought I’d give it a shot. The worst that could happen was that I’d catch the microwave on fire…again.

The first batch turned out perfect so I tried another. Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner! I was pretty happy to finally have an easy candy recipe (and it’s great for giving as a gift, for any occasion – and who wouldn’t want to open up a beautiful box or tin to find a batch of delicious homemade caramels?). 

Homemade Microwave Caramels

  • 1 cup melted Butter
  • 2 cups Brown Sugar
  • 1 cup Light Corn Syrup
  • 14 oz. Sweetened Condensed Milk
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla (or Vanilla Extract)

Mix the butter, brown sugar, and corn syrup in a large microwave safe bowl (I think glass works the best). Cook on high for 5 minutes. Stir in the condensed milk and cook on high for an additional 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from the microwave and mix in the vanilla, stirring well until it’s smooth. Pour into a buttered 9 x 13″ pan. Cool well. You can either cut it in the pan or remove it from the pan and cut it into squares. Wrap or layer (single layer) in wax paper and store in an airtight container.

NOTE: Not to “mother smother” but please use potholders, and be careful when working with this, as sugar is very hot when it’s in a liquid state — and this isn’t a good recipe for younger children to make and/or participate in.

Leave a Reply

