a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Zucchini surprise!

on September 1, 2012

 

Zucchini Bread

Okay, so the surprise isn’t what’s in this but, rather, the fact that I found a couple of nice sized zucchini growing in our garden. Based on what’s happened with the rest of our vegetables this year (ie; not too much of anything), this really was a great find! I may be getting a little too excited here but I’ve pulled out all my favorite zucchini recipes and started with bread (per Fred’s request — as it’s the “only way he’ll eat zucchini,” which is correct as far he knows…).

Zucchini Bread

(This is the recipe I’ve been using since I first started baking. I think I was around 8 or 9 years old. Looking at the recipe card (yes, I have the “original”), my spelling and grammar was atrocious. Thank goodness it’s improved…even if only slightly).

  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Cooking Oil
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla (or extract)
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/8 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 3/4 cup White Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Brown Sugar (not packed)
  • 1-1/2 cups Flour
  • 1-1/2 to 2 cups grated, fresh, unpeeled Zucchini (the amount you use will depend on the zucchini — if it’s a ‘juicy’ one, use 1-1/2 cups, if it’s a bit on the dry side, use up to 2 cups).
  • 1/3 cup chopped Walnuts (optional – but delicious!)

Crack the eggs into a big bowl and whisk until they’re well mixed. Add the rest of the wet ingredients (except the zucchini). Add the baking soda, baking powder, Cinnamon,  salt, white and brown sugars. Give it another good stir then add the flour, stirring again, then the zucchini and nuts and…yes, stir again until everything is all incorporated.

Heat your oven to 350F (as I’ve said in the past, I don’t “preheat” unless I’m on a strict time schedule – it’s a waste of energy, and too much heat in the summer, if you don’t use the oven right away) and grease/spray and flour a large loaf pan.  Pour the batter in and bake for 1 hour OR until a toothpick or knife come out clean (my oven runs hot – it was done in about 45 minutes). Leave it in the pan for about 5 minutes then loosen the edges (a table knife should do it), remove it from the pan, then let it cool on a rack before cutting/serving (most breads get “gummy” if you cut them too soon).

This is a very simple, basic recipe but I’ve never had a problem with “too many leftovers”…my idea of a good recipe.

Leave a Reply

