a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

The easiest Granola Bars you’ll ever make…and they’re tasty, too!

on August 26, 2012

I found this recipe in one of those ‘hand-outs’ that you get from the grocery store. I was getting ready to file it away, with my other (bazillion) “recipes to try,” when a friend and her kids came over to fight the deer for (ie: pick) some apples. I knew, with her busy schedule, she might appreciate this recipe as it was quick, easy, and, supposedly, “very kid-friendly.” I zipped off a copy for her on the printer and didn’t think much about it until she posted, on Facebook, a hearty “thank you!” to me along with other assorted words of praise about the recipe. A I guess a few other people took notice and started asking about it – so I did a quickie post of the recipe. Apparently this was quite the hit. People started popping up stating they had made them and thought they were the “greatest thing since microwave popcorn.” At this point, I had to try them…

5-Ingredient Granola Bars

  • 2 cups quick-cooking Oats*
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Honey
  • 1/2 up Peanut Butter OR 1 stick butter, softened (peanut butter is the way to go but it’s nice to have an alternative for those with nut allergies).
  • 3/4 cup Whatever** This could be; dried fruit, seeds, nuts, chocolate (or other) chips, small candies (like M&M’s), or even toss in a little flax or bran (and this is a great way to sneak it in, for those of you with a Fred of your own). You could even do a mixture of these, as long as it comes to 3/4 cup total.

Preheat your oven to 350F and spray or butter/grease a 9 x 13″ pan. Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl then press into the prepared pan and bake until it’s golden brown (my oven cooks hot and it took about 12 minutes).  Cool for 5 minutes then, while they’re still in the pan, cut into squares. Then, when they’re totally cool, remove them from the pan (there might be some breakage here…you have my permission to eat all the broken ones, right away) and store in an airtight container. The number of servings will depend on how big you cut them.

(*Because I am the queen of “what I have on hand,” I used 5 minute oats the first time I made these. The bars came out much thinner and crispier – and the baking time was only about 8 minutes. I used the 1 minute oats this time and they’re more of a crunchy/chewy texture and took about 4 minutes longer (12 minutes total).

**My 3/4 cup of “whatever” pictured here is a mix of sunflower seeds, blueberry flavored cranberries, and chopped walnuts).

I have to admit, in addition to being very easy, not to mention how well they store for lunches and take-along snacks, these really are the best granola bars I’ve ever eaten. And I like the idea that I can “control” what goes into them (and what doesn’t).

5 responses to “The easiest Granola Bars you’ll ever make…and they’re tasty, too!

  1. mrprose says:

    I don’t normally cook/bake (it’s a world I still need to explore), but I will definitely try this… thank you for showing this!

  2. I love granola bars and flapjacks! Thanks for sharing 😀

Leave a Reply

