a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Yard Art

on August 11, 2012

I’m kind of a sucker for “yard art.” Not that I’d have all of it in my own yard but I do have fun looking at what other people do. Sometimes it’s colorful and beautiful…aaaand, sometimes, it’s an absolute train wreck (you know you should look away but you just can’t…). But, I do appreciate the effort and understand that they probably wouldn’t have done it if they didn’t see something “artistic” in it…somewhere.

Here’s a fun little project I saw a while back using those old glass dishes and vases you find at the back of your cabinets, or at yard & tag sales, or even after your last potluck (tip; this is a great way to get rid of unwanted dishes. When your friend calls to ask if you’re the one who left the dish last night just say “no” and quickly direct her attention to someone else “it was Melissa’s, wasn’t it?”).

“Glass mushrooms.”  I’m hoping to get a few more of these done and put them around in my favorite shade garden.

Between what I had (I know that bowl was yours, Pam…) and what I bought at a tag sale, I spent less than $1, including the glue, to make these two (one of the bowls had a small crack in it — this is so much better than throwing it away!). I think they’d look cute in “color,” as well. Either by coloring them with glass paint (painting them on the inside to protect them from the weather) or using colored bowls & vases.  All I did was super glue the bowls, upside down, on the vases and let them dry. I think it’s a cute, quick project and a great way to reuse those old dishes!

Leave a Reply

