a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Sailing over the bounding main…

on August 3, 2012

The weather was perfect — the sun was out, there was just a bit of wind, and a friend of ours invited Fred and I to go sailing with him. It’s been far too long since I’ve been out on a boat and I’m so glad everything lined up, just right, for this to happen.

Once we left the port it was as if the whole bay was ours — with the exception of the “pirates” that passed our bow. They must’ve known we were big and mean and would put up a fight if they tried to steal our treasure…or, maybe, they were just regular boaters, like us, flying a pirate flag and had no idea we were even there (the first way is much more exciting, don’t you think?).

We were out about 2 hours – though it didn’t seem like that long (I guess it’s true that time really does fly when you’re having fun). Two glorious hours of  the smell of the ocean, the spray on my face, riding the waves with the wind in my hair. Pure joy, I tell you.

Oh, did I mention the motor stopped working as we were leaving the marina? Just a minor thing that could be fixed…of course, not while we were in the middle of the water. So, when we were done with our sail, we had to go back into port under wind power. If you’ve every sailed, you’ll understand how challenging this can be, especially in a full marina. I knew Fred had sailing experience from years past but never realized just how good he was. With him as the captain, the three of us got it back in the slip with no mishaps – it was almost like we meant to do this on purpose (with a reiteration on the “almost”). I’ve always been impressed with Fred but, I can honestly say, he got extra brownie points for this one…

We had a great time and I can hardly wait to go again.

Leave a Reply

