a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

“Girls Night Out” Mini Quiches

on July 14, 2012

Every now and then my friends and I get together for “girls night.” Sometimes we go to the movies, sometimes we go to dinner, and sometimes it’s just for drinks. Last night we gathered at one friends house for hor d’oeuvres and wine. Everyone brought something and it was all delicious. And the best part of doing a “dinner” this way is that everything always goes with everything else.

I wanted to try something “new” and use my mini muffin pan and pokey thing (I believe that’s the ‘technical term’ for a “tart shaper”) that I got from Pampered Chef (I love PC, don’t you?) to make some tasty little bites. I found a recipe, online, for mini tarts (but didn’t have much faith in the person who posted it. They’re actually quiches…and she left out a few key steps…and didn’t mention how long to bake them. However the recipe, in general, sounded good and I knew I could figure it out…or stop at the store, on the way over, and grab something else in case they didn’t…as Fred says, you should always have a “plan B”). 

Mini Quiches – 2 fillings, each one makes 24 mini quiches.

Pastry dough (for 48 mini quiches):

  • 1 cup butter, room temperature
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
  • 2 cups flour (all-purpose worked fine)

In a large bowl, whip the butter & cream cheese until it’s well blended. Add in the flour and stir until it comes together. Shape into a ball, wrap in Saran (plastic wrap) and put in the fridge about 15 minutes or so to stiffen up the dough a bit. In the mean time, make the filling(s).

Cheddar Filling (makes 24)

  • about 3/4 cup cheddar, finely grated (tip: if all you have is a large grater, grate the cheese then add in about 1 tsp. flour, mixing well. You will now be able to chop the cheese finer without it sticking together)
  • 1 tsp. herbs (your choice, dried or fresh. I used dried rosemary)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • dash salt & pepper (or to taste)
  • 1 finely chopped green onion (I used about 1 Tbs. red onion since I didn’t have green)

In a small bowl, mix the egg, milk, onion, salt & pepper. Set the cheese aside in another bowl.

Greek Filling (makes 24)

  • about 3/4 cup Feta cheese
  • 6-8 finely diced black olives (you could also use sliced)
  • 6 baby spinach leaves, finely chopped
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • dash salt & pepper

To make the pastry cups, divide your dough into 48 balls (unless you have a super-sized mini pan that holds 48, you’ll need to keep the rest in the fridge while you’re making these in batches). 

The muffin pan I have is non-stick. But I don’t trust non-stick so I gave each muffin cup a wipe of olive oil (at that time I had one hour to make all these, get ready, and get out the door. So I wasn’t taking any chances).

Place one ball of pastry dough per cup and either use your handy-dandy PC pokey thing or shape the cups by hand. Try to keep the pastry dough even on all sides and the bottom — and it’s okay if it comes up a little over the top of the edge of the muffin cup.

When the cups are ready, add your fillings. For the Cheddar I divided the cheese up between 24 pastry cups then added the egg/milk mixture. I used about 1 large soup spoon per pastry cup, filling it  just shy of the top (it’ll puff up when it bakes – and sink back down when it’s cooling). For the Greek, I divided up the Feta, spinach, black olives between 24 pastry cups then added the egg/milk mixture, same as I did with the Cheddar.

Bake at 350F for 20 minutes (checking at 15, since ovens vary). Let them set a minute or two before removing from the muffin pan to a cooling rack. 

How easy was that? I think I’m going to try mini cheesecakes next…

Here’s a link to the Pampered Chef website in case you don’t know anyone who sells it locally (and no, I don’t work for them – I just really like their products!) http://www.pamperedchef.com/ordering/shopOnline.tpc

Leave a Reply

