a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Easy peasy slow cooker Pasta e Fagioli

on July 2, 2012

I knew, when I woke up yesterday, that I was going to have a lot of work to get done and needed something that was easy for dinner. Of course, the first thing I thought of was my slow cooker (aka; crock pot). It’s still not very warm here (I’m beginning to think that summer has passed us by, in fact) so a hot dish wasn’t out of the question. I poked through my recipes and found the perfect thing…

Slow Cooker Pasta e Fagioli

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb. Lean Ground Beef, browned and drained*
  • 1/4 large Red Onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup Carrots, chopped
  • 1 Celery stalk, sliced
  • 1 – 14.5 oz. can diced Tomatoes (and juice)
  • 1 can Kidney Beans, drained & rinsed
  • 2 cups Beef Broth*
  • 13 oz. Pasta Sauce*
  • 1 tsp. dried Oregano
  • 1/2 Tbs. Tabasco sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1/8 tsp. Black Pepper
  • 1/4 cup dry (small) Pasta (to add towards the end of the cooking time)
  • Parmesan Cheese (optional)

*Being a vegetarian and not always having everything on hand, I made adjustments to the recipe as listed above: Instead of ground beef I used 3 chopped up Morningstar Farms Veggie Sausages and Vegetable Broth instead of Beef Broth. I also used leftover pizza sauce and left out the celery as I had none on hand.

Directions:

Chop up the carrots, onion, and celery. Add it to the empty slow cooker. Drain the beans and add them. Add the whole can of tomatoes and pasta sauce. Add the salt, pepper, oregano, and Tabasco. Stir in the meat.

Cover and cook on low for 7 hours OR high for 3 hours. After 7 hours on low/3 on high, stir in the pasta (if you’re cooking on “high” turn it down to low at this point), and cook another hour (or until the pasta is tender).

Top with Parmesan Cheese if you’d like (I like!) and serve with a nice loaf of bread. It’s delicious — and I got a rousing “you can make this again!” from Fred.

Leave a Reply

