a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

More than 2 pieces of bread…

on June 11, 2012

I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who has said “I don’t like sandwiches.” Even if you’re not a ‘traditionalist,” I believe everyone likes some kind of sandwich. Me included. In fact, I love ’em. They’re a pretty quick meal, easy to take & eat wherever you are, and the options are, as far as I can tell, virtually endless.

You might be thinking “but, LB…you’re a vegetarian. How can you love sandwiches with no meat?” “Au contraire” I would reply in my best French accent. “There are also so many vegetarian possibilities!” I will even go as far as eating sandwiches for every meal today, just to help prove it! (What can I say? I’m a giver…).

For breakfast I had an open-faced sandwich that consisted of a toasted english muffin, some Ricotta cheese, sliced strawberries, and topped with chopped walnuts. This is one of my favorites – I’ve tried this with different types of “bread” but the best, in my opinion, is waffles. SIDE NOTE: Waffles can be just as “convenient” as any other bread, even if you don’t buy the frozen. Next time you make a batch (yes, I make waffles from scratch…who knew I could be so domestic?), make extra and freeze them. When you need them, let them thaw about 10-15 minutes on the counter then pop them into the toaster. No, they’re not as good as fresh but if you only have a few minutes, they taste just fine.

Lunch was a grilled cheese or “cheese toasty” as my friend, Dennis, in London calls it. I used regular oat bread, American cheese and, here’s the best part; rather than spraying or buttering the pan, butter the outside pieces of the sandwich bread and sprinkle some Parmesan onto the butter (not the yummy real Parm — the stuff in the green can that you feed unwanted house guests) before you grill it. It gets a most beautiful crispy, cheesy crust this way. Of course you can also add other things to your sandwich, too. Fred likes ham or thin-sliced chicken on his. Some people like tomatoes or sautéed veggies. Me, I’m a purest…just cheese with an occasional sweet pickle thrown in.

Dinner was something that many of you won’t try. Only because it’s made with tofu and, for whatever reason, tofu has gotten a bad rap. It’s practically tasteless, has nice protein, and adds a lot of “meat-like” texture to most recipes. However, if you’ve only been exposed to the slimy, nasty stuff in the cardboard boxes, I can understand your dislike. I don’t like that, either (no offense to the manufacturer but it is kind of gross) — unless I’m making a pie (yes, I do make pies from “silken” tofu. And, no. You don’t have to worry about turning down a dinner invite from me – I’ve only made this for company one time. They liked it until they found out what it was…). I use fresh tofu (from the local health food store) or extra firm water packed. Okay, the tofu mystery is cleared up. On to the recipe.

Eggless “Egg” Salad

This makes about 2 large servings (or 3 small). And, if you don’t eat eggs, for whatever reason (vegan, allergies, etc.), this is a great recipe for you!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb. fresh or water packed Tofu

Before I go on to the rest of the ingredients, let me add that everyone has different tastes when it comes to “salad dressings.” This is just what I like – you tailor it to suit your tastes and wants.

  • 1/2 cup Mayonnaise (the vegetarian/vegan alternative, Nayonnaise, works great in this recipe).
  • 1 Tbs. Mustard
  • 1 tsp. Turmeric
  • Salt/Pepper
  • 1 Tbs. small diced Carrots (optional – I have carrots on hand more often than celery and like the sweetness)
  • 1 Tbs. small diced Onions (optional)
  • 1 Tbs. Sweet Pickle Relish (optional)

Mash the Tofu with a fork or potato masher until you have appx. “pea-sized” pieces. Add in the rest of the ingredients, stir, and refrigerate about 2 hours before serving. The Turmeric will turn the salad a bright “egg” yellow, making it even more convincing…okay. So it’s not a dead ringer for the real thing. But, I once fed some to my father who said “so, how much Tofu did you put in the egg salad?” That was good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

