a view from the laundry pile…

…it's all about perspective.

Move over Suzie Homemaker

on May 3, 2012

Usually, when I wake up feeling “domestic,” I roll over and go back to sleep until the feeling goes away. Okay, so, I may be exaggerating a bit – I never get to go back to sleep with 3 dogs and a Fred.  But, there are a couple of things in this department that I actually enjoy doing, though, like cooking (well, most of the time, anyway) and trying new recipes.

Since I’m not one of those people who dashes out to the grocery store every time I run out of something (unless it’s things we just can’t do without, like meds, toilet paper, or ice-cream), I make due with what we have until I can get there. And I see, this morning, that we’re running low on bread so making lunch rolls is in order.

My favorite recipe was posted by a friend of mine on Facebook.  She started a ‘group’ about cooking.  Mostly shared recipes but also tips, articles, where to find ingredients, etc. – anything anyone would like to share about cooking.  I tried this recipe, about a year ago, and was totally hooked. I make a big batch, about once a month, and freeze what we don’t eat right away (at least, this is the theory.  We’ve not had any make it that far…).

What I find so unique about this recipe is that it starts in the bread maker.  Easy peasy, right?  (This is, probably, one of the biggest reasons I like it so much.  Well, that and they’re absolutely deelish).

Bread Maker Rolls

Ingredients

– 1-1/4 cups milk, *slightly warmed. You can use regular milk for this but I, usually, use powdered and I’ve not tried it with anything but cows milk.

*”slightly warmed” – hot to the touch but not so hot you couldn’t stick your hand in there without it hurting/scalding.  The whole idea is not to kill the yeast by overheating it.  If it doesn’t feel hot enough, you can microwave it, in 10-15 second increments, until it’s warm enough.

Thawing egg

– 1 beaten egg.  When I don’t have fresh eggs I just pull some out of the freezer…(didn’t know you could freeze eggs, did you?  Crack an egg into a bowl, beat it, pour it into a (non-stick sprayed) muffin tin, and repeat until you’ve used all your eggs, using one egg per muffin cup.  Freeze them until they’re hard, pop them out – you may need to dip the bottom of them pan in warm water to do this – stick them into a freezer bag (I double bag to prevent freezer burn) and voila!  You’ll always have “fresh’ eggs on hand).

– 2 tablespoons butter.  If you’re not using soft, room temperature butter, you can always soften it by cutting it into small pieces and adding to the warm milk, letting it sit for a minute or two.

Scant 1/4 cup sugar

– 1/4 cup white sugar.  I use just under 1/4 cup as neither Fred nor I like overly sweet bread.

– 3/4 teaspoon salt. Regular table salt is fine.

King Arthur bread flour

– 3-3/4 cups bread flour.  Use bread flour not ‘all purpose.’  I can’t stress this enough. It really does make a difference (I ‘cheated’ once and used regular flour — they didn’t come out the same, at all.  The dough was heavy and hard to work with).

Active dry yeast

– 1-1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast.  I buy the jar of yeast because it’s more economical as I bake quite often. The packets of yeast contain 2-1/4 tsp. so you’d want to use 1 tsp. less for this recipe.

 DIRECTIONS

It’s very important to add the ingredients in the order in which they’re listed here (ie; wet/dry/yeast on top). If you don’t, and I speak from experience, you will end up with a globby mess).

Bread maker on “dough” setting

Wet, dry, yeast

1. Add all the ingredients, as listed, to the pan in the bread maker.

2. Select “dough” setting and wait until it’s finished

3. When the cycle is complete, turn the dough out onto a floured surface

Dough on a floured surface

(Below are the rest of the directions as stated in the original recipe.  However, this isn’t what I do for the next 2 steps).

4. Cut the dough in half and roll each out into a 1″ circle 

5. Cut each half into 3-1/2 rounds with an inverted glass as a cutter 

(What I do is roll each half of the dough into rectangles and cut them into squares with a knife.  They end up, just about, sliced bread size and are perfect for lunches). 

6. Place on a greased baking sheet, at least an inch apart, and brush with melted butter (butter is optional) 

7. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 1 hour. Bake at 350F for 9 minutes*

*NOTE: Oven temperatures vary so check them after 9 minutes to see if they’re done (slightly browned on the top, hollow sound when lightly tapped).  

(Fred thinks it’s crazy that it makes 11 rolls…should I tell him it actually makes 12?   Naw…)

 

2 responses to “Move over Suzie Homemaker

  1. janacath says:

    this makes me want to get a breakmaker!!

Leave a Reply

